Time for…

christmas books

Now that Thanksgiving day has past, Christmas is the next big holiday! So, guess what? Time for Christmas music, Christmas decorations, Christmas shopping, and CHRISTMAS BOOKS! Yippee! So, I am going to start reviewing Christmas books today! Beginning with…The Christmas Shoes by Donna VanLiere.

One more thing. Just because Thanksgiving day is over doesn’t mean we immediately jump back into our gloomy and ungrateful attitudes. No, it is still Thanksgiving weekend! Even if it wasn’t that, we should always remember to be thankful. Just because Thanksgiving is one day out of the whole year, it doesn’t mean be thankful only one day. Thanksgiving day should be every day in our hearts.

I hope you all had a lovely Thanksgiving Day! Now to my review…

 

Sometimes, the things that can change your life will cross your path in one instant-and then, in a fleeting moment, they’re gone. But if you open your eyes, and watch carefully, you will believe…. Robert is a successful attorney who has everything in life-and nothing at all. Focused on professional achievement and material rewards, Robert is on the brink of losing his marriage. He has lost sight of his wife, Kate, their two daughters, and ultimately himself. Eight year old Nathan has a beloved mother, Maggie, whom he is losing to cancer. But Nathan and his family are building a simple yet full life, and struggling to hold onto every moment they have together. A chance meeting on Christmas Even brings Robert and Nathan together-he is shopping for a family he hardly knows and Nathan is shopping for a mother he is soon to lose. In this one encounter, their lives are forever altered as Robert learns an important lesson: sometimes the smallest things can make all the difference. The Christmas Shoes is a universal story of the deeper meaning of serendipity, a tale of our shared humanity, and of how a power greater than ourselves can shape, and even save, our lives.

The Christmas Shoes

Wow, I picked up this book, just a few days ago, and read it within one night. I did not have an opinion about this book or author, since this is my first Donna VanLiere book. But WOW, I was not expecting this. I liked this book so much. So much that I went and checked out the next book and started it. And if wasn’t writing right now, you can guess where I would be.

I am so glad I started this Christmas season with this book. It had Christmas spirit, from the beginning of the book to the end of the book. With the message of forgiveness, love, and the meaning of Christmas. The book is actually based on the song Christmas Shoes.

The book is short and a quick read but well worth it. Even though is it short, VanLiere switched points of view many times but it worked.  I am usually not one to cry during books or movies but if you are one who does, then please take my advice. Have a tissue when you read this book.

I highly recommend this book.

Title: The Christmas Shoes

Author and her Website: Donna VanLiere

Reading Resolution 25: Read a book where the main character is a boy.

This review is written in my own words and is my honest opinion.

 

Coming Soon… The review of The Christmas Blessing, the sequel to The Christmas Shoes.

One thought on “Time for…

  1. Pingback: The Christmas Blessing | It Starts With A BOOK

Leave a comment