The Hobbit (My Journey There and Back Again)

I am a huge fan of the Lord of the Rings series and The Hobbit. One of my younger sisters had made it her goal for the summer to read the The Hobbit, so I did too. I read it many years ago but rereading it sounded like fun. So I did reread it and here are my thoughts on it. So, like I have done with a few other reviews, I am going to write about the book by J.R.R. Tolkien and the movies. Where to start? Oh, yes,  let’s start with the book.

 the hobbit

A great modern classic and the prelude to The Lord of the Rings. Bilbo Baggins is a hobbit who enjoys a comfortable, unambitious life, rarely traveling any farther than his pantry or cellar. But his contentment is disturbed when the wizard Gandalf and a company of dwarves arrive on his doorstep one day to whisk him away on an adventure. They have launched a plot to raid the treasure hoard guarded by Smaug the Magnificent, a large and very dangerous dragon. Bilbo reluctantly joins their quest, unaware that on his journey to the Lonely Mountain he will encounter both a magic ring and a frightening creature known as Gollum.

The Hobbit Book

I finished this book and forgot how much I liked it. My first experience with this story was a long time ago when I was in middle school, maybe even younger, but I cannot remember. I remember liking the story then and after just finishing now I forgot how good the book really is. To all J.R.R. Tolkien fans, you know what I am talking about, right? It is actually hard to believe that book was first published in 1937. For being 80 years old, it is amazing that there are not that many books that have surpassed it, in my opinion. This is a story that will delight children, teens, and adults.

I highly recommend this book to all. If you have been discouraged to read this book because you thought “Well it is a classic and classics are boring” then you have not read this classic before. Be prepared to be intrigued from the beginning to the end and if you are anything like me, you will want to read the Lord of the Rings series as well.

hobbit-trilogy

So a lot of people ask whether the book is better than the movie, and I usually say I liked them both. And that is what I say about The Hobbit (book) and the The Hobbit (the movies). Both are super cool. So before I begin, I am going to clarify something for you all. I only watch the extended version of The Lord of the Rings. The longer the movie is the better. I sadly have only watched the extended part of the first Hobbit movie but not to worry I have a copy of the other two waiting for me when I have the time to watch them. I have seen all the movies though but cannot wait for the extra scenes.

I would not say there was anything I did not like about any of the movies. Even the scenes and characters that were not in the book but in the movie I would not change. Well, maybe I would have liked it more if Peter Jackson did not have my favorite dwarfs die like they did in the book and movies. Maybe it is best that I do not direct movies.

Anyway, I recommend all three movies.

 

Have you read the book or watched any of the movies? If you have, please feel free to comment and tell me about your journey into Middle Earth and your journey there and back again.

 

Title: The Hobbit

Author: J. R. R. Tolkien

Movie Titles: The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey

                         The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug

                        The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies

Director: Peter Jackson

 

Reading Resolution 3: Read a classic

This review is written in my own words and is my honest opinion.

3 thoughts on “The Hobbit (My Journey There and Back Again)

  1. Pingback: Happy Tolkien Reading Day! | It Starts With A Book

Leave a comment