The Battle Between…

Image result for ebooks vs printed books

Well, I originally thought I knew the answer to this question but then I started to see the pros and cons of each one. Yes, this comes from a girl who carried around the 5th Harry Potter book in her purse. Not the best of decisions – my poor purse did not last as long as it should have but I guess the designer did not think that it would be turned into a portable library. ( ;

 

Paper Books:
Pros-
  • Easy to identify
  • Sharing them is much easier
  • Can display them on a bookshelf
  • The satisfaction of closing the book once finished
  • All you need is a library card or a credit card ( :
  • Easier to read in the sun
Cons-
  • Heavy to carry
  • Can usually only carry one book at a time
  • Fonts may be hard to read
  • Could be eye straining
  • Purchase cost of paper books are pricier
E-Books
Pros-
  • Light and easy to carry
  • Fonts are adjustable
  • Usually more affordable
  • Can usually have more than one book with you at all times
Cons-
  • Need a device ( Kindle, phone, tablet, etc )
  • Battery dies
  • Hard to guess what the person is doing (are you reading or are you on social media?)
  • Cannot display them
  • Eye straining
  • Sunlight reflects on the screen-hard to read
I personally (after giving both types a try) still prefer holding a book and being able to turn the pages. I will use both options but if I am able to get a hard copy of the book that is the one I will choose. I love the idea of being able to keep a bunch of books on a small digital device but then I lose the ability to display all the books I have on my bookshelf.

The choice is up to you! Which do you prefer?

Leave a comment