A Song Unheard Review and Some Exciting News!

Willa Forsythe is both a violin prodigy and top-notch thief, which makes her the perfect a song unheardchoice for a crucial task at the outset of World War I–to steal a cypher from a famous violinist currently in Wales. Lukas De Wilde has enjoyed the life of fame he’s won–until now, when being recognized nearly gets him killed. Everyone wants the key to his father’s work as a cryptologist. And Lukas fears that his mother and sister, who have vanished in the wake of the German invasion of Belgium, will pay the price. The only light he finds is meeting the intriguing Willa Forsythe. But danger presses in from every side, and Willa knows what Lukas doesn’t–that she must betray him and find that cypher, or her own family will pay the price as surely as his has.

                          Review

A Song Unheard is the second book in Roseanna M White’s series Shadows over England. I read the first book (A Name Unknown) last year and enjoyed it but to be honest, (like you all know I am when it comes to book reviews) I liked this book a little better, from the story to the characters.

Let’s start with the story and the plot. I was intrigued with the book from the very beginning to the very end. I was actually disappointed that the story ended and that the next book in the series isn’t out yet (More on that later). White has a little different writing style than most authors so I would say her books start off slower then the pace quickens at every turn of the page. By the way, the music aspect of the book was great. As a musician myself I liked that very much, even though the main characters were violinists. (I play the piano, if you wanted to know.)

And now to the characters. This one had two interesting main characters. As I mentioned earlier it was fun to have the music aspect and I enjoyed reading about the character’s love of music. One of my favorite parts was that Willa could play music by ear, while Lukas could not. Unlike some books where you like only one of the main characters, this book was not like those. I liked both of the main characters.

So, to conclude, I recommend this book!

Title: A Song Unheard

Author and her Website: Roseanna M. White

I received this book from the Bethany House Publishing of the Baker Publishing Group for this review.

This review is written in my own words and is my honest opinion.

 

And the Extra news:

Read about the next book in the series right below. The book will be released on 9/04/18 (Why the Long Wait?)!

Once London’s top thief, Barclay Pearce has turned his back on his life of crime and now An Hour Unspentuses his skills for a nation at war. But not until he rescues a clockmaker’s daughter from a mugging does he begin to wonder what his future might hold. Evelina Manning has constantly fought for independence but she certainly never meant for it to inspire her fiancé to end the engagement and enlist in the army. When the intriguing man who saved her returns to the Manning residence to study clockwork repair with her father, she can’t help being interested. But she soon learns that nothing with Barclay Pearce is as simple as it seems. As 1915 England plunges ever deeper into war, the work of an ingenious clockmaker may give England an unbeatable military edge—and Germany realizes it as well. Evelina’s father soon finds his whole family in danger—and it may just take a reformed thief to steal the time they need to escape it. 

Leave a comment