The Captain’s Daughter

When a series of circumstances beyond her control leave Rosalyn Bernay alone and penniless in London, she chances upon a job backstage at a theater that is presenting the most popular show in London. A talented musician and singer, she feels immediately at home and soon becomes enthralled with the idea of pursuing a career on the stage. A hand injury during a skirmish in India has forced Nate Moran out of the army until he recovers. Filling his time at a stable of horses for hire in London, he has also spent the past two months working nights as a stagehand, filling in for his injured brother. Although he’s glad he can help his family through a tough time, he is counting the days until he can rejoin his regiment. London holds bitter memories for him that he is anxious to escape. But then he meets the beautiful woman who has found a new lease on life in the very place Nate can’t wait to leave behind.

the captain's daughter

Where to start? To be honest, writing book reviews is very hard to do when you are not a fan of the book. Authors put so much time and effort into their books it is hard to write a negative review.

So, if you have not guessed, I am not a huge fan of this book. First and foremost, I could not get into it. While I was reading it, I never wanted to read more. Even when I got to the end of the book I was still not interested. The main characters did not pull me into their story.

I don’t want to tell to not read this book, if you have read other books by this author. I just was not super impressed with this book in particular. I hope that her other books will be better.

 

Title: Captain’s Daughter

Author: Jennifer Delamere

Author’s Website: http://www.jenniferdelamere.com/

Reading Resolution 7: Read a book with a red cover.

 

I received this book from the Bethany House Publishing of the Baker Publishing Group for this review.

This review is written in my own words and is my honest opinion.

2 thoughts on “The Captain’s Daughter

Leave a Reply

