The True…and Untrue…Story of Anastasia Through a Book and a Broadway

Anastasia Broadway

I recently have been keeping updated with the Broadway Anastasia. Meaning I have Anastasia Movielooked at the few pictures that have come out and the few vocal clips that they have released. I absolutely love the 1997 cartoon movie Anastasia even though the animation makes me laugh, but I guess I really like it because of the songs/vocalists. That is why I have been interested in the Broadway because it is based off that movie. Truthfully it is a good thing I like the movie and am interested in the Broadway, because there is absolutely no possible way to avoid it even if I wanted to. My younger sisters and older sister like the movie as well. Anastasia music is not uncommon coming from one of our devices speakers and usually it is turned up full volume.

 

All the excitement about Anastasia reminded me of a book I read a few years ago.

 The Family Romanov: Murder, Rebellion, and the Fall of Imperial Russia.

Here is the riveting story of the Russian Revolution as it unfolded. When Russia’s last tsar, Nicholas II, inherited the throne in 1894, he was unprepared to do so. With their four daughters (including Anastasia) and only son, a hemophiliac, Nicholas and his reclusive wife, Alexandra, buried their heads in the sand, living a life of opulence as World War I raged outside their door and political unrest grew. Deftly maneuvering between the lives of the Romanovs and the plight of Russia’s peasants – and their eventual uprising – Fleming offers up a fascinating portrait, complete with compelling primary-source material that brings it all to life. History doesn’t get more interesting than the story of the Romanovs.

The Family Romanov

This book is very interesting book about the last tsar and his family. I think this book was written for younger readers but I think adults will find it as interesting as well. When I read this book, I remember reading it in a week or so. It was not an average non-fiction book. It was fast paced. Fleming had dozens of pictures. I like that when non-fiction books have pictures. It helps me to put a face to the person I am reading about and is also a good way to show that these people were real, not someone’s imagination.  Most people have at least heard of Anastasia and the speculations that she did not die when here family was murdered. Before I read this book that is all I ever heard or read about.

Off topic, I just recently watched the first season of Victoria and after watching it I did Victoria.jpgmy own research. I found out that one of Victoria’s granddaughter was none other than… Alexandra (Anastasia’s mother). She was married to Nicholas, the last tsar of Russia, which would make Anastasia and her sisters and brother great grandchildren to Victoria. This was mentioned in the book but it was funnier to write about the TV show, hich I though was very interesting to watch! There was also a family tree in the book showing how they were related.

Back to the topic, I would recommend this book to young and old looking for a well written/not boring non-fiction book about the Romanovs, Rasputin, Russia, and revolution.

I also recommend all of the movies/TV shows that I have mentioned in this post.

Title: The Family Romanov: Murder, Rebellion, and the Fall of Imperial Russia

Author: Candace Fleming

Author’s Website: http://www.candacefleming.com/

This review is written in my own words and is my honest opinion.

One thought on “The True…and Untrue…Story of Anastasia Through a Book and a Broadway

Leave a Reply

