Against the Tide

Boston of 1891 is a city of hope and ambition, where mariners, merchants, and dreamers thrive in the cobblestone streets of America’s most historic city. Within the harbor of Boston’s naval shipyard, Lydia Pallas has become a trusted assistant to an Admiral in the U.S. Navy. Fluent in seven languages, she spends her days translating documents from all over the world.

Lydia’s remarkable language skills bring her to the attention of Alexander Banebridge, a mysterious man on a quest to rid the world of the scourge of opium. Only Lydia has the rare combination of language skills and courage he needs to advance his cause. A man as coolly analytical as he is relentless, Bane never bargained on falling in love with Lydia. As he battles the bittersweet love that grows between them, Bane’s mission will take Lydia away from everything—and everyone—she ever held dear.

Against the Tide

I read this book awhile back and I just reread it. I could read this book over and over again; it is that good. This book is one of my personal favorite inspirational fiction books of all time. I have not read all of Elizabeth Camden’s books but I have read, To the Farthest Shores and Lady of Bolton Hill. This one is my favorite, so far and since it is one of my all-time favorite books, Camden will have a hard time surpassing it.

The two main characters, Lydia and Bane, are on my list of favorite fictional couples. They were perfect and written exceptionally well. I read Lady of Bolton Hill first, but when I learned Camden wrote a book with Bane as the main character, I knew I would like the book and I did. Lydia had an interesting story of her own, but I don’t want to give away too much.

This book deals with the opium distribution that went on during the 1890s. It was sad to read that so many turned a blind eye to it and even fed it to young children.

This book is a novel but the character Bane is from the book, Lady of Bolton Hill. But he is the only character from either of the books. On Camden’s website, there is a page about Against the Tide. Camden included extra scenes and information about the book that is interesting to read about, if you have read the book. She explains why she did not make this book apart of a series. Which is really sad because I would love to read more about Lydia and Bane. Also, I think it would be awesome to read a book where the main characters (Lydia/Bane and Clara/Daniel) from both of the books (Lady of Bolton Hill and Against the Tide) meet, since Bane met and became friends with Clara in the book Lady of Bolton Hill. Also, at the end of Lady of Bolton Hill, Clara wanted to find Bane, and Daniel said he would find him for her. So, if you have not guessed, I think Elizabeth Camden should write a book where the characters meet!

If you cannot tell, I really like Against the Tide and I would recommend it.

 

Title: Against the Tide

Author: Elizabeth Camden

Author’s Website: http://elizabethcamden.com/

Reading Resolution 38: Reread your favorite book.

This review is written in my own words and is my honest opinion.

2 thoughts on “Against the Tide

  1. Pingback: A Dangerous Legacy | It Starts With A BOOK

Leave a Reply

