Behind the Scenes

Miss Permilia Griswold may have been given the opportunity of a debut into New York high society, but no one warned her she wasn’t guaranteed to “take.” After spending the last six years banished to the wallflower section of the ballroom, she’s finally putting her status on the fringes of society to good use by penning anonymous society gossip columns under the pseudonym “Miss Quill.
Mr. Asher Rutherford has managed to maintain his status as a reputable gentleman of society despite opening his own department store. While pretending it’s simply a lark to fill his time, he has quite legitimate reasons for needing to make his store the most successful in the country.
When Permilia overhears a threat against the estimable Mr. Rutherford, she’s determined to find and warn the man. Disgruntled at a first meeting that goes quite poorly and results in Asher not believing her, she decides to take matters into her own hands, never realizing she’ll end up at risk as well.
As Asher and Permilia are forced to work together and spend time away from the spotlight of society, perhaps there’s more going on behind the scenes than they ever could have anticipated…

BehindtheScenes_mck.indd

A good read that is well worth taking the time to read. A round of thunderous applause for Jen Turano!

I just came back from vacation and this is the book I read during the long car rides. I liked this book very much. It was fun, suspenseful, and well written. Jen Turano’s plot had me flipping the pages as fast as I was able to. Permilia and Asher, the main characters, were interesting and Turano’s other characters were also intriguing. Those characters will be in the next book.

I usually don’t quote books but I actually found a funny quote that made me smile. It is during a scene when Asher is talking with Permilia’s father and her father asks if Asher thought Permilia was appealing. Asher answered back with this quote, “She’s very appealing-when she’s not annoying me, that is.” I just thought that quote was hilarious.

I highly recommend Behind the Scenes.

Just to let you know.

This book begins a new series called Apart from the Crowd. Turano wrote a novella, At Your Request, which is a short prequel to this brand-new series. I have it on my kindle and it is waiting to be read. I will probably be reading it soon. Just to let you know it is free on kindle as of today.

The next book in this series is called Out of the Ordinary and is coming out on November 7, 2017.

 

Title: Behind the Scenes

Author: Jen Turano

Author’s Website: http://jenturano.com/

Reading Resolution 53: Read a book that starts a series.

This review is written in my own words and is my honest opinion.

I received this book from the Bethany House Publishing thought Netgalley for this review.

One thought on “Behind the Scenes

  1. Pingback: At Your Request | It Starts With A BOOK

Leave a Reply

