Some Writer!

Elwyn Brooks White loved words. As a child, he chased them through dictionary pages and crafted them into poems for St. Nicholas magazine. When he was a young man, words led him to writing jobs at big city newspapers and The New Yorker. And when his own stories came calling, E. B. White spun his words into classics such as Charlotte’s Web and Stuart Little-and his readers have been chasing his words ever since.

In this stunning first-ever fully illustrated biography of the legendary author E. B. White, the Sibert medalist and Caldecott Honor winner Melissa Sweet uses White’s letters, photos, and manuscripts-as well as her original collaged are-to convey the true story of one of the most beloved authors of all time.

Some Writer PICTURE

I have been very pleased with the non-fiction children books that have been coming out because when I was younger, my mother could never find biographies for me to read. All she could find were biographies about celebrities, and she wanted us to read about people who impacted the world. That is why I am pleased because true stories about interesting people are coming out. I have seen dozens of books just for young readers about Florence Nightingale, Marie Curie, and many more interesting people who have changed the world.

I have always been interested in reading about authors; and when I saw this book, I knew I had to read it. To be honest, I had little knowledge about E. B. White but now after reading this book, I do. For those who grew up reading Charlotte’s Web, Stuart Little, and Trumpet of the Swan, this is an excellent book to read. I know this book is geared towards younger children but anyone can read it. This book puts a face to E. B. White and show the hard work that went into these famous yet still treasured classics.

I highly recommend this book to anyone but I hope that if you are a young aspiring writer or know one, that you will recommend/read this book. This book is a great encouragement for young writers. It shows that even a story that starts inside your imagination can become something greater and all you have to do is write.

A MUST READ!

Here is a good E. B White quote: Write about it by day and dream about it by night.

 

Title: Some Writer! The Story of E. B. White

Author: Melissa Sweet

Author’s Website: http://melissasweet.net/

Reading Resolution 22. Read a youth non-fiction book.

This review is written in my own words and is my honest opinion.

Leave a Reply

