Grace and the Preacher

At the age of twenty-four, postmistress Grace Cristler has all but given up hope of finding a husband among the narrowing group of eligible men in her town of Fairland, Kansas. But when her uncle decides to retire from the pulpit, Grace is responsible for corresponding with the new preacher set to take his place. She can’t deny the affection growing in her heart for Reverend Rufus Dille—a man she deeply admires, but has only met through his letters. Theophil Garrison is on the run from a past and a label he’s desperate to escape. Ten years ago, his outlaw cousins convinced him to take part in a train robbery, but Theo fled the scene, leaving his cousins to face imprisonment. Now their sentence is complete, but the plan for vengeance has only just begun. Branded a coward and running for his life, a chance encounter could provide Theo with the escape he needs.  But the young man’s desperate con might come at an enormous price for the tenderhearted Grace—and the entire town. Will Grace’s undeserved affection and God’s mercy make something beautiful from the ashes of Theo’s past?

grace-and-the-preacher-pic

This was a good, wholesome book about forgiveness and I enjoyed reading this book.

Once I started reading it, I knew I had to finish it. One of my sisters, who reads books quickly, was shocked to see me read this book in only a few days. I am a slow reader and I have to be intrigued by the first few chapters to finish a book.

Kim Vogel Sawyer did a great job. There were good parts and there were parts that were lacking but over all this book had a cute plot, decent characters, and a good lesson. I liked that Sawyer switched to different characters’ point of views in this book. It drew me into each characters’ story as well as the story as a whole.

I started this book thinking I would not like it, but now I would be happy to recommended it to anyone looking for a good story.

Title: Grace and the Preacher

Author: Kim Vogel Sawyer

Author’s Website: https://www.kimvogelsawyer.com/

I received this book from Blogging for Books for this review.

 

This review is written in my own words and is my honest opinion.

Reading Resolution 16. Read a book from the inspirational section.

One thought on “Grace and the Preacher

  1. Pingback: Grace and the Preacher – Cover to Cover and Everything In Between

Leave a Reply

