Michael Vey: The Prisoner of Cell 25

The start of an action-packed teen series from #1 New York Times bestselling author Richard Paul Evans.
To everyone at Meridian High School, fourteen-year-old Michael Vey is nothing special, just the kid who has Tourette’s syndrome. But in truth, Michael is extremely special—he has electric powers. Michael thinks he is unique until he discovers that a cheerleader named Taylor has the same mysterious powers. With the help of Michael’s friend, Ostin
(It is pronounced Austin, but the book explains why it is spelled like that), the three of them set out to discover how Michael and Taylor ended up with their abilities, and their investigation soon brings them to the attention of a powerful group who wants to control the electric teens—and through them, the world.
#1 New York Times bestselling author Richard Paul Evans introduces a character whose risk-filled exploration marks the beginning of a riveting new series. With only his powers, his wits, and his friends to protect him, Michael will need all his strength to survive….

 michael-yey-book-1

I recently brought this book home and both my older brother and younger sister read it before I got a chance to even take a look at it. It must have been good because they both were asking for the next books in this series. (So far, there are six books). I had to set the book aside because I became extremely busy, but then the local library near us bought the audio book. I was happy to see that. First, I have an addiction to building puzzles. I am not talking about the 200-300 piece puzzles but the 1000-3000 piece puzzles and I have the tendency to put aside a good book to build a puzzle. So a few years ago, I found that I could build while listening to a book. That is what I decided to do with Michael Vey.

The reader has to be good to keep me interested in the book, and Fred Berman did a very good job. My sisters and I listened to the entire book, which was eight discs. I am not sure how long it is but it was worth it. I also have the next book in audio form (also read by Fred Berman), so that tells you how much I enjoyed the book.

The plot was cool and for being a teen book, it was a good, clean story. The main characters are teenagers (in high school). The story is told in multiple points of view but mainly focuses on Michael. The main character, Michael, has Tourette’s syndrome, which is unique for younger readers who have no clue what Tourettes are. Michael and his friend are both victims of bullying, but Richard Paul Evens tells the bullies’ story too.

If you are a Rick Riordan fan or just like reading, this is the book/audiobook for you.

 

Title: Michael Vey: The Prisoner of Cell 25

Author: Richard Paul Evens

Author’s Website:http://www.richardpaulevans.com/

Read by: Fred Berman

 

Another book that I would recommend like this one is…

Percy Jackson and the Lighting Thief by Rick Riordan.

 

This review is written in my own words and is my honest opinion.

Leave a Reply

