Where Hope Prevails

When Beth Thatcher returns to Coal Valley, she has much to be excited about. She anticipates Jarrick’s proposal of marriage and perhaps a spring wedding. The mine is expanding, and there are more schoolchildren than ever.
But the town’s rapid growth brings many challenges. A second teacher is assigned, and Beth finds herself going head-to-head with a very different philosophy of education–one that dismisses religion and rejects God. Fearful for the children who sit under the influence of Robert Harris Hughes, Beth struggles to know how to respond.
At the same time, Beth wonders if Jarrick is considering a position at her father’s company simply for her sake. Should she admit her feelings on the matter? Or keep silent and allow Jarrick to make up his own mind?

Where Hope Prevails PIC

Where Hope Prevails is the last installment in the series Return to the Canadian West. I was sad to see it end, but it ended well. I was slightly disappointed in the way Beth was portrayed. For example, her not telling Jarrick that she wanted him to stay in the RCMP really got annoying and then her judging the new teacher, just made her look like a spoiled child.

My personal favorite part of the book was when she stood up for Robert Harris Hughes at the hearing. I think the reason I liked that part was because neither were on friendly terms, but she new that if she did not go, no one else would stand up for him. I just thought it was a sweet thing to do.

I am a big fan of the TV show When Calls the Heart, but when I read this book, I already knew not to expect the show to be similar to the book. The only thing I can think of that was the same is Beth’s sister Julie. When I was reading this book, I could picture Julie, like she is portrayed in the show.

This book has a good, sweet story and is worth the read if you have read the first and second book in this series and enjoyed them.

Even though this was well written, I was not as impressed with this book as I was with the other Janette Oke books I have read.

Title: Where Hope Prevails

Authors: Janette Oke and Laurel Oke Logan

I received this book from the Bethany House Division <http://bakerpublishinggroup.com/bethanyhouse&gt; of the Baker Publishing Group for this review.

This review is written in my own words and is my honest opinion.

Leave a Reply

