To Follow Her Heart

It is 1664 and Patience Terry is devastated to learn that Captain Jeremy Horton’s ship has been shipwrecked off the coast of Barbados, with no survivors. She had hoped that Jeremy would someday give up the sea and settle down with her in Southold, Long Island.
Unaware his memorial service is being planned, Jeremy is rescued and aboard a British Naval Gunship with secret orders to attack New Amsterdam and claim it for the British Crown. When he makes his surprise return to Southold–and to an overjoyed Patience–it’s not the happily-ever-after his beloved had hoped for.
With a finely tuned sense for authentic historical characters and settings, Rebecca DeMarino plunges readers into the 17th century–a world of high seas and tall ships, daring journeys and yearning hearts.

To Follow Her Heart Pic

This book had its many ups and downs, sad and joyful parts. I did not mind the story, but I think it dragged out just a little too long. Through out the book, all I could think was, “Make up your mind.” The two characters just needed to sit down and talk out what they both expected from each other, instead of getting angry and breaking up.

One of the aspects I enjoyed was reading that Rebecca DeMarino based her books off of her great (9x) grandparent’s life and their journey to the “new world”.

I enjoyed reading about the bond the ladies of the book had and how, even though they were not related, they treated each other like they were sisters.

The epilogue, for me, was a little bit of a let down. She ended the two main characters story great but reading that part was just sad. I thought that the epilogue was not needed.

I have not read any of the other books in this series and was able to read it without wondering who each character was and which book they were from. If you have read To Capture Her Heart  and liked one of the main characters, I am not going to say who, be prepared to be sad.  I was disappointed, and I have not read the book yet. I would recommend this book, but like I said at the beginning, there is many ups and downs, so be prepared for lots of drama.

Title: To Follow Her Heart

Author: Rebecca DeMarino

Author’s Website: http://www.rebeccademarino.com/

I received this book from the Revell Division <http://bakerpublishinggroup.com/revell&gt; of the Baker Publishing Group for this review.

This review is written in my own words and is my honest opinion.

 

Leave a Reply

